Jindal Students Make a Clean Sweep in DFW AMA Collegiate Marketer of The Year Finals

AMA Collegiate Marketer of the Year

All finalists for the 2013-2014 DFW American Marketing Association Collegiate Marketer of the Year award were Jindal School students, including (from left) Zachary Evans, winner Ganapath (Ramu) Velu, Mindy Tiu, BS 2014, and Asha Andrews, BS 2014. (Photo by and courtesy of Benjamin D. Stewart)

Collegiate Marketer of the Year award from the Dallas/Fort Worth chapter of the American Marketing Association.

Presented at the chapter’s awards gala on May 8, the Collegiate Marketer of the Year Award recognizes excellence in collegiate marketing leadership and is given to one individual or group of qualifying collegiate marketers in the state of Texas, chosen from those that are nominated. The three other award finalists, also Jindal School students, were Zachary Evans and graduating seniors Mindy Tiu and Asha Andrews.

Velu’s award application outlined “his outstanding video marketing work that greatly increased student traffic to the UT Dallas Career Center’s 2013 fall expo,” Julie Haworth, director of JSOM’s undergraduate marketing program, said.

All the finalists did exceptional marketing work this academic year, Haworth said. “The judges had excellent candidates to choose from.”

“Great job, great solution, great outcome,” one judge remarked about Velu’s award-entry project.

“Outstanding creative output,” another said.

The project, a video, “is a remake of a video I made for WrightIMC that they still use today for recruiting,” Velu said. “They won the Marketer of the Year Award” at the DFW AMA gala.

Velu had a marketing externship at WrightIMC as well as at Online Performance Marketing. His professional training includes internships at Mentalix, Inc.; and the Boy Scout of America National Office. He works as junior project manager at Develare, a Dallas website design and development company.

A past UT Dallas Student Government senator, Velu was selected in March by the campus Residential Life Office to be a peer advisor starting this fall. A past officeholder in the UT Dallas student chapter of the American Marketing Association, he will serve as the group’s 2014-2015 president.

Linh Nguyen
Linh Nguyen
Miguel Juarez
Miguel Juarez

Other recent marketing student achievements include Zac Evans winning a $1,000 national GEICO scholarship for outstanding collegiate achievement, Linh Nguyen winning a $2,000 Advertising Education Foundation of Houston scholarship and Miguel Juarez winning a $2,500 LAGRANT Foundation scholarship for ethnic minority students pursuing careers in advertising, marketing and public relations.