Phi Beta Lambda Winners Headed to Nationals

Phi Beta Lambda Winners Headed to Nationals

After finishing as top winners at the Texas State Leadership Conference, these UT Dallas Phi Beta Lambda members will represent Texas at nationals in Chicago this summer. Pictured are (front row, left to right): Phimlamphay Merry Dimanh and Syeda Noor Ul Ain; (back row, left to right): PBL advisor Dr. Michele Lockhart, Sara Ho, Harshita Guduru, Mounika Mutyala, Nousheen Karimi, PBL co-advisor Dr. Vance Johnson Lewis and Joyce Chemplanikal.

UT Dallas members of the business-career student group Phi Beta Lambda earned top honors at the organization’s recent Texas State Leadership Conference. The Naveen Jindal School of Management hosted the April event, where PBL members tested their business skills against other students from around the state/

Eleven members of the UT Dallas chapter, based in the Jindal School, took home awards that qualified them to continue to the Phi Beta Lambda National Leadership Conference in Chicago in June. In all, UT Dallas winners earned seven first-place awards and five second-place awards in 12 events.

Challenges tested students’ knowledge in a variety of areas ranging from business law to impromptu speaking to entrepreneurial concepts. UT Dallas competed against students in Phi Beta Lambda chapters from across the state, including Texas A&M University, Baylor University, Stephen F. Austin State University, The University of Texas at Arlington, The University of Texas – Pan American, San Jacinto College (Central and South campuses) and Howard Payne University.

“Students learn so much from these competitions, and to see them preparing, pushing themselves to improve as individuals and to come together as a team, is so rewarding,” said advisor to the group Dr. Michele Lockhart, senior lecturer in the Jindal School’s Organizations Strategy and International Management Area. “This is a great organization for them to develop professionally as students while thinking about their upcoming graduations and beginning their careers.”

Held annually, both the state and national conferences provide a resource for students to gain leadership experience, participate in motivational general sessions, career-planning workshops and sessions to improve their business etiquette and social networking, and intense competitive activities.

The Jindal School last year was selected to host the 2015 and 2016 state conferences. The state competition, which drew about 85 undergraduate students from Texas colleges and universities, allowed students to compete in both online and on-campus events, and those who placed first or second in each category may compete for national awards at the June 24-27 national conference.

“We were thrilled to host the competition at the Jindal School this year. We were able to show off our campus and our facilities, JSOM and the many resources that we have,” Lockhart said. “We had great workshop presenters from the school’s Career Management Center and Business Communication Center; if students weren’t competing, they were in an engaging workshop.”

The collegiate division of the Future Business Leaders of America, Phi Beta Lambda focuses on preparing students for careers in business and business-related fields. On the college level, more than 11,000 students nationwide participate in the organization, which is designed to build leadership and scholarship.

UT Dallas Phi Beta Lambda 2015 State Competition Winners
Event Name JSOM Contestant Place
Business Law Nidhi Gotgi 1st
Business Law Team: Nousheen Karimi Mounika Mutyala 2nd
Community Service Project Team: Harshita Guduru Syeda Noor Ul Ain 2nd
Desktop Publishing Phimlamphay Merry Dimanh 1st
Entrepreneurial Concepts Katrina Moore 2nd
Hospitality Management Saishreya Peramanki 1st
Impromptu Speaking Sara Ho 2nd
International Business Saishreya Peramanki 1st
Job Interview Bethany Salgado 1st
Marketing Analysis and Decision Making Team: Nousheen Karimi Mounika Mutyala 1st
Microeconomics Harshita Guduru 2nd
Social Media Campaign Team: Joyce Chemplanikal Phimlamphay Merry Dimanh Bethany Salgado 1st