Jindal School Dean Hasan Pirkul Recognized for Exceptional Leadership

Hasan Pirkul
JSOM Dean Hasan Pirkul

Naveen Jindal School of Management Dean and Caruth Chair of Management Dr. Hasan Pirkul received the John J. Fernandes Strategic Leadership Award October 10 at the meeting of the Allied Academies in San Antonio. Given by the Academy of Strategic and Entrepreneurial Leadership, the award recognizes a university president, provost, dean or other senior academic leader who has evidenced great leadership. It is named for its first recipient, John J. Fernandes, CEO and president of AACSB International—The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

“Your leadership of the UT Dallas Naveen Jindal School of Management is clear evidence of your merit,” Jim Carland, executive director of the ASEL, wrote the dean in informing him of the honor.

The academy commemorated the dean’s accomplishments by noting that during his 17-year tenure, Pirkul has helped transform the Jindal School into one of the foremost public business schools in the nation and the world.

JSOM gained AACSB accreditation under Dean Pirkul’s guidance, and Fernandes has said that “Dean Pirkul has not only been an exceptional leader for The University of Texas at Dallas, but he has also been instrumental in shaping the future of global management education by serving on over 10 accreditation teams and the AACSB Pre-Accreditation Committee….The world of management education is indebted to Hasan for his service and leadership.”